one hundred and seventeen, today

December 29, 2007 § Leave a comment

I shall not rest quiet in Montparnasse.
I shall not lie easy at Winchelsea.
You may bury my body in Sussex grass,
You may bury my tongue at Champmedy.
I shall not be there. I shall rise and pass.
Bury my heart at Wounded Knee.

the end of “American Names” by Stephen Vincent Benét (1898-1943)

for all those, whose hearts were buried in Wounded Knee in 1890 and later: may your souls fly in power and freedom.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading one hundred and seventeen, today at haldjas.

meta

